About the Award
Past Recipients
Award Committee
Contact Us



Harvard's Wesley Saunders headlines the Lou Henson Award Preseason Watch List. The winner will be announced on April 3 in Indianapolis, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

Nov. 12, 2014


Lou Henson Preseason All-America Team

BOSTON, MA -- The preseason candidates for National Player of the Year were announced on Wednesday. Incoming freshmen and transfers are not eligible for the preseason All-America team.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the Division I "Mid-Major" Player of the Year. The award is named in honor of Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four. 

The 2015 recipient will be announced at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 3 in Indianapolis, site of the 2015 men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

NOTE: Ron Baker (Wichita State), Tyler Haws (BYU), Kevin Pangos (Gonzaga) and Fred VanVleet (Wichita State) were named to the preseason Lute Olson All-America Team.


D.J. Balentine 6-2 Jr. Evansville
Joel Bolomboy 6-9 Jr. Weber State
Jarekious Bradley 6-5 Sr. Southeast Missouri
Craig Bradshaw 6-3 Jr. Belmont
David Brown 6-4 Sr. Western Michigan
John Brown 6-8 Jr. High Point
Julius Brown 5-10 Sr. Toledo
Jared Brownridge 6-2 So. Santa Clara
Mike Cafey 6-0 Sr. Long Beach State
Karl Cochran 6-1 Sr. Wofford
Kyle Collinsworth 6-6 Jr. BYU
Tekele Cotton 6-3 Sr. Wichita State
Johnny Dee 6-0 Sr. San Diego
A.J. English 6-4 Jr. Iona
Ryan Harrow 6-2 Sr. Georgia State
Tyler Harvey 6-4 Jr. Eastern Washington
Corey Hawkins 6-3 Sr. UC Davis
R.J. Hunter 6-6 Jr. Georgia State
David Laury 6-9 Sr. Iona
Trey Lewis 6-2 Jr. Cleveland State
Shawn Long 6-9 Jr. UL Lafayette
Daniel Mullings 6-2 Sr. New Mexico State
Mamadou Ndiaye 7-6 So. UC Irvine
Maurice Ndour 6-9 Sr. Ohio
Jacob Parker 6-6 Sr. Stephen F. Austin
Cameron Payne 6-2 So. Murray State
Rashawn Rembert 6-3 Sr. ETSU
Wesley Saunders 6-5 Sr. Harvard
Justin Sears 6-8 Jr. Yale
Keifer Sykes 6-0 Sr. Green Bay
Bernard Thompson 6-3 Sr. FGCU
Marcus Thornton 6-4 Sr. William & Mary
Matt Tiby 6-8 Jr. Milwaukee
Demetrius Treadwell 6-7 Sr. Akron
Seth Tuttle 6-8 Sr. Northern Iowa
Corey Walden 6-2 Sr. Eastern Kentucky
Brad Waldow 6-10 Sr. Saint Mary's
Jameel Warney 6-8 Jr. Stony Brook
Jalan West 5-10 Jr. Northwestern State
Alan Williams 6-8 Sr. UC Santa Barbara


Contact Us
Gene Bartow Award
Jack Bennett Award
Lefty Driesell Award
Hugh Durham Award
Clarence Gaines Award
Joe B. Hall Award
Lou Henson Award
Ben Jobe Award
Kyle Macy Award
John McLendon Award
Don Meyer Award
Lute Olson Award
Jim Phelan Award
Skip Prosser Award
Glenn Robinson Award
Riley Wallace Award
Kay Yow Award
Mid-Major Freshmen All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive All-America Team
Mid-Major Defensive Player of the Year
Mid-Major Freshman of the Year
National Most Valuable Player
Mid-Major Most Valuable Player
All-Conference Honors
Copyright © 2013 CollegeInsider.com.
All rights reserved.